nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
North Dakota North Dakota Protection and Advocacy logo and title

North Dakota North Dakota Protection and Advocacy

Contact Us
About P&A
Priorities & Resources
Working Committees
Client Assistance Program
Supported Decision-making
Wells Fargo Bank Building
400 East Broadway
Suite 409
Bismarck, ND 58501-4071

701.328.2950 · Phone
701.328.3934 · Fax
800.472.2670 · Toll Free
711 · TDD Relay

North Dakota Protection & Advocacy Project

Legislative: Contacts

North Dakota's Congressional Delegation

Senator John Hoeven
G11 Dirkson Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
202.224.2551: phone
202.224.7999: fax
Contact Senator John Hoeven

Senator Heidi Hietkamp
SD-G55 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
202.224.2043: phone
202.224.7776: fax
Contact Senator Heidi Heitkamp

Congressman Kevin Cramer
1032 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
202-225-2611: phone
201-226-0893: fax
Contact Representative Kevin Cramer

State Of North Dakota

Governor Doug Burgum
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0001
701.328.2200: phone
701.328.2205: fax

North Dakota's Legislature

A legislator can be reached by mail, telephone, or e-mail at the address listed in the legislator's bio under Legislative Assembly.

During a legislative session, a legislator can be reached at the State Capitol through e-mail or by leaving a message with the legislative telephone message center at 1-888-NDLEGIS (635-3447) or 701-328-3373 (local). The TDD Relay is 711.

North Dakota Senate

The Senate consists of 47 senators. One senator is elected from each of 47 districts. Here is the 2017 Senate Leadership:

2017 Senate Leadership
President Lt. Governor Brent Sanford Fargo
President Pro Tempore Gary A. Lee Casselton
Majority Leader Rich Wardner Dickinson
Assistant Majority Leader Jerry Klein Fessenden
Minority Leader Joan Heckaman New Rockford
Assistant Minority Leader John Grabinger Jamestown

A complete List of Senators is available.

North Dakota House of Representatives

The House of Representatives consists of 94 representatives. Two representatives are elected from each of 47 districts. Here is the 2017 House Leadership:

2017 House Leadership
Speaker Larry Bellew Minot
Majority Leader Alan H. Carlson Fargo
Assistant Majority Leader Don Vigesaa Cooperstown
Minority Leader Corey Mock Grand Forks
Assistant Minority Leader Kathy Hogan Fargo

A complete List of Representatives is available.

Legislative Management

Originally created by the 1945 Legislative Assembly as the Legislative Research Committee, the name was changed to the Legislative Council in 1969. Effective August 1, 2009, the Legislative Council became the Legislative Management. Its staff of attorneys, fiscal analysts, information technology, support, and library personnel retain the name Legislative Council (see below).

Today the 17-member Legislative Management by statute consists of 17 legislators, including the Majority and Minority Leaders of both houses, the Speaker of the House, and six senators and six representatives. In the House, the Majority Leader appoints four members and the Minority Leader appoints two members. In the Senate, the Majority Leader appoints four members and the Minority Leader appoints two members.

Following each legislative session, the newly appointed Legislative Management meets to determine upcoming interim studies and committee memberships. Each legislator serves on one or more interim committees in the two-year period between legislative sessions. Several interim committees and commissions, such as the Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, Administrative Rules, Commission on Alternatives to Incarceration, Budget Section, Employee Benefits Programs, Energy Development and Transmission, Higher Education Funding, Information Technology, Legislative Audit and Fiscal Review, Legislative Ethics, Tribal and State Relations, Water Topics Overview, and Workers' Compensation Review, function under statutory authority. Other interim committees are named and assigned by the Legislative Management members. Between sessions, interim committees hold hearings, take testimony, and review information provided by the Legislative Council, state agencies, and interested parties as they consider alternative approaches to issues raised by studies.

Legislative Council
State Capitol
600 East Boulevard
Bismarck, ND 58505-0360
701.328.2916: phone
701.328.3615: fax
800.366.6888: TTY

Legislative Council

The Legislative Council staff consists of attorneys, accountants, researchers, and auxiliary personnel who are hired and who serve on a strictly nonpartisan basis.

The Legislative Council Legislative Council staff provides a wide range of services to legislators, other state agencies, and the public. Attorneys on the staff provide legal advice and counsel on legislative matters to legislators and legislative committees. The Legislative Council has on its staff the Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor and assistants who provide technical assistance to the Legislative Management committees and legislators and who review audit reports for the Legislative Audit and Fiscal Review Committee. The Legislative Council also provides computer services to the legislative branch, including research and bill drafting capabilities.

The Legislative Council supervises the publication of the Session Laws, the North Dakota Century Code, and the North Dakota Administrative Code. The Council's library contains a wide variety of materials and reference documents, many of which are not available from other sources.

Legislative Council
State Capitol
600 East Boulevard
Bismarck, ND 58505-0360
701.328.2916: phone
701.328.3615: fax
800.366.6888: TTY

Not sure which Legislative district you live in?

Check Legislative District

Privacy Policy
Security Policy